Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

Further settings

Login for editors

Magisterstudium

Postgraduate Studies “Legum Magister” (LL.M.)

The Faculty of Law and Economics of the Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg offers graduate studies for “Legum Magister” or “Legum Magistra” (LL.M.) to students with a foreign university degree in law. The students acquire knowledge of the essential features of German law. They will study one field of German law profoundly and will be qualified to work scientifically in German law. This course of studies offers an extraordinary access to the German law system and the German language of law.

There is an increasing demand for this course of post-graduate studies by foreign students. The city of Halle offers both an excellent environment and pleasant living conditions. Namely the various courses of studies, the individual student counselling and modern university facilities make Halle a popular place for foreign guest students.

1. The City of Halle

The City of Halle   , which celebrated its 1200th anniversary inn 2006, is a traditional City of Brine Wells. It has not only been an important centre of crafts and trade but a centre of education, research and training for many centuries. Halle has been a university town since 1694 and the seat of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the oldest association for scholars of natural science in the world. The city is situated on the banks of the river Saale, surrounded by a beautiful landscape near the mountains “Harz”. Halle is rich in important evidences of art and culture, especially of buildings from the age of the Wilhelminian style. The city is well-known for its various cultural highlights such as the annual Händel Festival.

2. The Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

The Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg is a fusion of the University of Halle founded in 1694 with its famous sister university in Wittenberg founded in 1502. Both universities reached great importance in Europe, as they had decisive influence on the development of intellectual life. The University of Wittenberg was of outstanding importance for the spread of the Reformation and the development of Humanism; the University of Halle gained great reputation as a centre of the early Enlightenment.

3. Postgraduate Studies “Legum Magistra” (LL.M.)

I. Admission Requirements

Requirements for the admission to the graduate studies are:

  • Generally the successful graduation of jurisprudential studies at a university abroad equivalent to the German Law Studies
  • Sufficient German language skill

II. Mentoring

A professor of the legal department of the university is at the disposition as a tutor for each student of the postgraduate studies. The tutor together with the student will arrange the individual course scheme. He acts as an advisor in any study-related question and in cooperation with the student determines the topic of the individual final thesis. The tutor is the primary reviewer of the final thesis and is a member of the examination board, which conducts the oral examination.

III. Study Contents

According to their preferences, the students have to attend lectures from two of the three subcategories – civil law, criminal law and public law – during their studies. They have to attend three lectures from both chosen subcategories during the first two semesters. Furthermore, students are obliged to attend lectures and tutorials which offer a methodical training in case practice in civil, criminal or public law.

IV. Examination

The postgraduate study terminates with a masters examination. It consists of a written final thesis and an oral examination. The final thesis must be written in German. It has to handed in after three semesters at the latest.

Once the student has attended all obligatory lectures and tutorials and passed the final thesis, s/he will be admitted to the oral exam. The oral exam includes a field of law that can be assigned to the subject of the final thesis and another one of the obligatory fields of law. The additionally examined field of law can be chosen freely by the examinee.

V. Dates

The post-graduate study can be started in the winter or summer term of every academic year.
Details of this post-graduate studies course may be found in the master’s examinations regulations ( MagO ) from 19-01-2001.

VI. Application/Enrolment

Please send your application to the following address of the administrative office for foreign students and studies of the university.

Please consider the information and advice there. Application forms can be found here: Uni-Assist   .

Contact

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Immatrikulationsamt - Internationale Studierende

room 1 Löwengebäude, Infothek, Foyer
Universitätsplatz 10
06108 Halle (Saale)

phone: +49 345 55 21 519
phone: +49 345 55 21 314

4. Contact Person

Director of the examination office:

Contact

Martina Langnickel
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Juristische und Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Juristischer Bereich
Prüfungsamt

Universitätsplatz 10a
06108 Halle (Saale)

phone: +49 345 55 - 23 166

Masters Commissioner:

Contact

Prof. Dr. Susanne Sieker
Lehrstuhl für Bürgerliches Recht, Handelsrecht, Steuerrecht und Wirtschaftsrecht

Universitätsplatz 10a
06108 Halle (Saale)

phone: +49 345 55 - 23146

Up

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Weiteres

Login für Redakteure

Magisterstudium

Aufbaustudiengang „Legum Magister“ (LL.M.)

Die Juristische und Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg bietet Studierenden mit abgeschlossenem ausländischen rechtswissenschaftlichen Universitätsstudium ein Aufbaustudium mit dem Abschluss „Legum Magister“ bzw. „Legum Magistra“ (LL.M.) an. Die Studierenden lernen die Grundzüge des deutschen Rechts kennen, vertiefen ein Rechtsgebiet exemplarisch und werden zum wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten im deutschen Recht befähigt. Der Studiengang vermittelt damit einen ausgezeichneten Zugang zum deutschen Rechtsdenken und zur deutschen Rechtssprache.

Das Studium dauert bis zu drei Semester. Es wird durch eine Magisterarbeit, die spätestens bis zum Ende des dritten Semesters abzugeben ist, sowie mit einer sich anschließenden mündlichen Prüfung abgeschlossen.

Der Aufbaustudiengang erfährt eine stetig zunehmende Nachfrage durch ausländische Studierende aus unterschiedlichen Ländern. Halle bietet ihnen ausgezeichnete Studienmöglichkeiten sowie angenehme Wohnverhältnisse und Lebensbedingungen. Namentlich die vielfältigen Studienangebote, die individuelle Betreuung und die modernen Universitätseinrichtungen erfreuen sich großer Beliebtheit unter den ausländischen Gästen.

I. Die Stadt Halle (Saale)

Die Stadt Halle   , die im Jahr 2006 ihr 1200-jähriges Jubiläum gefeiert hat, ist eine traditionsreiche Salzsiederstadt. Sie ist nicht nur seit vielen Jahrhunderten ein wichtiger Standort des Handwerks und des Handels, sondern auch ein Zentrum der Bildung, der Forschung und der Lehre. Seit 1694 ist Halle Universitätsstadt. Die Stadt ist ferner Sitz der Leopoldina, der ältesten naturwissenschaftlichen Gelehrtenvereinigung der Welt. Die Stadt liegt an der Saale, umgeben von einer reizvollen Landschaft, unweit des Harzes. Halle ist reich an bedeutenden Zeugnissen der Kunst und Kultur, vor allem an Bauwerken aus der Zeit der Gründerzeit. Bekannt geworden ist die Stadt auch durch ihr vielfältiges kulturelles Leben, etwa durch die jährlichen internationalen Händel-Festspiele.

II. Die Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Die Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg ist aus der Vereinigung zweier traditionsreicher Hochschulen hervorgegangen: der im Jahre 1502 gegründeten Universität Wittenberg und der Universität Halle, die im Jahre 1694 gegründet wurde. Beide Hochschulen hatten entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Entwicklung des geistigen Lebens und Rechtsdenkens in Europa. Der Universität zu Wittenberg kam vor allem eine herausragende Stellung für die Ausbreitung der Reformation und der Entwicklung des Humanismus zu; die Universität Halle erlangte hohes Ansehen als Zentrum der Frühaufklärung.

III. Der Aufbaustudiengang „Legum Magistra“ (LL.M.)

1. Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Voraussetzungen zur Zulassung zum Aufbaustudium sind:

  • der erfolgreiche Abschluss eines rechtswissenschaftlichen Universitätsstudiums im Ausland, das dem deutschen rechtswissenschaftlichen Studiums gleichwertig ist sowie
  • ausreichende deutsche Sprachkenntnisse

2. Betreuung

Die Studierenden können sich unter den Hochschullehrern und Hochschullehrerinnen der Fakultät einen Betreuer oder eine Betreuerin auswählen, der oder die während der Studienzeit neben dem Prüfungsamt als Ansprechpartner für Fragen zum Studium und der Abschlussprüfung dient.

3. Inhalt des Studiums

Die Studierenden haben während ihres Studiums im Umfang von 20 Semesterwochenstunden Vorlesungen aus zwei der drei Teilbereiche Zivilrecht, Strafrecht und Öffentliches Recht zu besuchen, davon drei Vorlesungen für die ersten beiden Semester aus den beiden Teilbereichen. Außerdem ist eine Teilnahme an einer Übung im Bürgerlichen Recht, Strafrecht oder Öffentlichen Recht vorgesehen.

4. Prüfung

Das Aufbaustudium wird mit einer Magisterprüfung abgeschlossen. Diese besteht aus einer schriftlichen Magisterarbeit und einer mündlichen Prüfung. Die Magisterarbeit hat die Bearbeitung eines rechtswissenschaftlichen Themas zum Gegenstand, muss in deutscher Sprache abgefasst sein und spätestens nach dem Ende des dritten Semesters abgegeben werden.

Hat der Studierende die Pflichtveranstaltungen besucht und die Magisterarbeit bestanden, wird er zur mündlichen Prüfung zugelassen. Die mündliche Prüfung erstreckt sich auf das Rechtsgebiet, dem das Thema der Magisterarbeit zuzurechnen ist und ein weiteres Rechtsgebiet aus dem Bereich der Pflichtfächer. Das zu prüfende Pflichtfach kann der jeweilige Kandidat bzw. die Kandidatin selbst wählen.

5. Termine

Die Aufnahme des Aufbaustudiums ist zum Wintersemester eines jeden Jahres möglich.
Einzelheiten zu dem Studiengang können Sie der Magisterprüfungsordnung ( MagO ) vom 19.01.2001 entnehmen.

6. Bewerbung

Ihre Bewerbungen für den Aufbaustudiengang richten Sie bitte an das Immatrikulationsamt - Internationale Studierende der Universität.

Bitte beachten Sie die dortigen Informationen und Hinweise. Die Bewerbungsunterlagen finden Sie hier: Uni-Assist   .

Kontakt

Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Immatrikulationsamt - Internationale Studierende

Raum 1 Löwengebäude, Infothek, Foyer
Universitätsplatz 10
06108 Halle (Saale)

Telefon: +49 345 55 21 519
Telefon: +49 345 55 21 314

IV. Ansprechpartner

Leiterin des Prüfungsamtes:

Kontakt

Martina Langnickel
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Juristische und Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Juristischer Bereich
Prüfungsamt

Universitätsplatz 10a
06108 Halle (Saale)

Telefon: +49 345 55 - 23 166

Magisterbeauftragte:

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Susanne Sieker
Lehrstuhl für Bürgerliches Recht, Handelsrecht, Steuerrecht und Wirtschaftsrecht

Universitätsplatz 10a
06108 Halle (Saale)

Telefon: +49 345 55 - 23146

Zum Seitenanfang